What is the furthest Australia has gone in the World Cup?

June 9, 2021 Off By idswater

What is the furthest Australia has gone in the World Cup?

Australia has qualified for the FIFA World Cup finals on five occasions: in 1974, 2006, 2010, 2014 and 2018. They have also attempted to qualify through to the FIFA World Cup, 15 times with their first attempt being in 1966 when they lost to North Korea.

When did Australia win the FIFA World Cup?

The history of the Australia national soccer team begins with their first international match in 1922. They have won four Nations Cup titles, in 1980, 1996, 2000 and 2004 and one Asian Cup in 2015.

Has Australia ever beaten Argentina soccer?

The tournament was particularly notable for Australian fans for a remarkable extreme-long range goal scored by Charlie Yankos in Australia’s unexpected 4-1 win over then World Champions Argentina.

When did Australia become a FIFA member?

June 1956
The body was then superseded by the ‘Australian Soccer Football Association’ (ASFA), which operated for nearly 40 years, receiving FIFA membership in June 1956. This lasted just four years, however, with the Association disbanding in 1960 after being suspended from FIFA for the poaching of players from overseas.

How many times has Australia qualified for the World Cup?

For the womens team, see Australia at the FIFA Women’s World Cup. This article summarizes the results and overall performances of Australia at the FIFA World Cup . Australia has qualified for the FIFA World Cup finals on five occasions: in 1974, 2006, 2010, 2014 and 2018.

Who are the countries that bid for the 2010 World Cup?

Five African nations placed bids to host the 2010 World Cup: Egypt, Morocco, South Africa and a joint bid from Libya and Tunisia. Following the decision of the FIFA Executive Committee not to allow co-hosted tournaments, Tunisia withdrew from the bidding process.

Where was the 2010 FIFA World Cup Final played?

The final was played at the Soccer City, Johannesburg All countries (except South Africa that qualified as host nation) took part in qualification tournament to qualify to the World Cup. In the first round all teams were divided to eight groups of four teams where team played with other three teams in group.

Who are Australia’s opponents in the FIFA World Cup?

FIFA World Cup matches (by team) Opponent Pld D L GA Brazil 1 0 1 2 Chile 2 1 1 3 Croatia 1 1 0 2 Denmark 1 1 0 1

Where was the final match of the 2010 World Cup held?

It began on 26 June with the round of 16 matches, and ended on 11 July with the final match of the tournament held at Soccer City, Johannesburg, in which Spain beat the Netherlands 1–0 after extra time to claim their first World Cup.

How did Australia get into the World Cup?

Australia was originally to compete against 18 African and Asian nations for one World Cup qualifying position. However, after the suspension of South Africa by FIFA and the withdrawal of all but one of the competing teams, Australia was left to play against North Korea in a two-legged series.

When did South Africa qualify for the 2010 World Cup?

On 6 June 2015, The Daily Telegraph reported that Morocco had actually won the vote, but South Africa was awarded the tournament instead. The qualification draw for the 2010 World Cup was held in Durban on 25 November 2007. As the host nation, South Africa qualified automatically for the tournament.

Who was in the knockout stage of the 2010 World Cup?

The top two placed teams from each of the eight groups qualified for the knockout stage. Uruguay ( pen.) Paraguay ( pen.) Uruguay vs South Korea was the first match in the Round of 16. The match was held at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth before a low crowd of 30,597. Uruguay won the match 2–1.