What is the penalty for marijuana possession in Kentucky?

June 1, 2021 Off By idswater

What is the penalty for marijuana possession in Kentucky?

Possession. Possession of up to 8 ounces of marijuana is a Class B misdemeanor, which is punishable by a maximum sentence of 45 days imprisonment and a maximum fine of $250.

What is the penalty for possession of a controlled substance in KY?

Someone who knowingly possesses Schedule IV or V substances may be charged with a class A misdemeanor. If convicted, penalties include fine of $500, up to one year in jail, or both.

What is the sentence for controlled substance?

According to California Health and Safety Code section 11351, possession for sale of a controlled substance is a felony, and the punishment for sale of a controlled substance in California consists of 2, 3, or 4 years in county jail and a maximum $20,000 fine.

How much jail time is a Class D felony in Kentucky?

People convicted of Class D felonies in Kentucky face 1 to 5 years’ imprisonment.

How long does a Class D felony stay on your record in Kentucky?

Felony: Eligible for expungement after 3-years.

How long does a misdemeanor stay on your record in KY?

five years
Kentucky’s courts may now expunge your misdemeanor record if you have no pending charges and the expungement petition is filed no sooner than (5) five years after the completion of the person’s sentence or five (5) years after the successful completion of the person’s probation, whichever occurs later.

What’s the punishment for marijuana possession in Kentucky?

You won’t get off with merely a ticket in the state of Kentucky. If you are found possessing less than 8 ounces, you will face up to 45 days in jail and $250 under this misdemeanor offense.

What are the penalties under the Cannabis Act?

Penalties for offences under the Cannabis Act range from warnings and tickets for minor offences, to criminal prosecution and imprisonment for more serious offences. The Act also includes offences that are specifically aimed at people who make cannabis available to youth. What is legal under the Act?

What happens if you get a drug charge in Kentucky?

If this is your first offense drug charge, you will be charged with a Class D felony. A class D felony carries 1 to 5 years in prison upon conviction. If this is your second or greater drug offense, you will face a Class C felony charge.

What is the law on possession of cannabis?

The law that governs the possession of cannabis is set out in Section 4 of the Misuse of Drug Act 1971. This legislation details that it is illegal for a person to possess, produce, manufacture or cultivate controlled drugs, including cannabis.

What are the penalties for marijuana in Kentucky?

Penalty Details 1 Possession. Possession of up to 8 ounces of marijuana is a Class B misdemeanor, which is punishable by a maximum sentence of 45 days imprisonment and a maximum fine of 2 Sale or Trafficking. 3 Cultivation. 4 Hash & Concentrates. 5 Paraphernalia. 6 Miscellaneous.

What’s the maximum fine for possession of marijuana?

Possession of up to 8 ounces of marijuana is a Class B misdemeanor, which is punishable by a maximum sentence of 45 days imprisonment and a maximum fine of $250. Possession of 8 ounces or more of marijuana shall be prima facie evidence that the person possessed the marijuana with the intent to sell or transfer it.

What are the drug possession laws in Kentucky?

Kentucky Drug Possession Laws. First Degree Drug Possession. First degree drug possession is defined as possessing any amount of methamphetamine, cocaine, heroin, LSD, GHB, or any narcotic classified as a Schedule I or II substance. The penalty you face if convicted of this offense depends on your criminal history.

What’s the penalty for possession of CDs in Kentucky?

Possession of CDS in the Second Degree. Someone who knowingly possesses specified amounts of Schedule I or II substances that are not narcotic drugs, or some substances in Schedule III, may be charged with a class A misdemeanor. If convicted, penalties include fine of $500, up to one year in jail, or both. (Ky.