What is a Type A dissection?

September 20, 2020 Off By idswater

What is a Type A dissection?

Type A dissection occurs when the tear develops in the ascending part of the aorta just as it branches off the heart, while Type B dissection involves the lower aorta. While Type A dissection is the more dangerous form, chances of survival are significantly improved with early detection and management.

How are aortic aneurysms classified?

Aortic aneurysms are classified by their location on the aorta. An aortic root aneurysm, or aneurysm of the sinus of Valsalva. Thoracic aortic aneurysms are found within the chest; these are further classified as ascending, aortic arch, or descending aneurysms.

How can you tell the difference between a Type A and B aortic dissection?

Aortic dissections are classified into two types: type B dissection involves a tear in the descending part of the aorta and may extend into the abdomen, whereas type A dissection develops in the ascending part of the aorta just as it branches off the heart.

What are the odds of surviving aortic dissection?

Prognosis for Aortic Dissection Hospital mortality rate for treated patients is about 30% for proximal dissection and 10% for distal. For treated patients who survive the acute episode, survival rate is about 60% at 5 years and 40% at 10 years.

What is a Type B dissecting aneurysm?

A type B aortic dissection originates in the descending aorta, which extends from the arch at the top of the ascending aorta—the part that extends upward from the heart—in the chest to the bottom section of the aorta, also known as the abdominal aorta.

What is the difference between dissection and aneurysm?

Aneurysms can occur in any vessel, most notably in the brain, heart, thoracic aorta, and abdominal aorta. A dissection is a tear of the inside layer of a blood vessel wall that allows blood to flow between the layers that make up the vessel wall and separate these layers.

What is the Stanford classification of acute aortic aneurysms?

This system helps to delineate treatment. Usually, type A dissections require surgery, while type B dissections may be managed medically under most conditions. Wojnarski CM, Svensson LG, Roselli EE, et al. Aortic dissection in patients with bicuspid aortic valve-associated aneurysms.

How is DeBakey classification used in acute aortic dissection?

Objective: The DeBakey classification was used to discriminate the extent of acute aortic dissection (AD) and was correlated to long-term outcome and re-intervention rate. A slight modification of type II subgroup definition was applied by incorporating the aortic arch, when full resectability of the dissection process was given.

How is the DeBakey classification used in radiology?

Along with the Stanford classification, the DeBakey classification is used to separate aortic dissections into those that need surgical repair, and those that usually require only medical management.

What are the different types of DeBakey dissections?

The DeBakey classification divides dissections into 1-5: type I: involves ascending and descending aorta (= Stanford A) type II: involves ascending aorta only (= Stanford A) type III: involves descending aorta only, commencing after the origin of the left subclavian artery (= Stanford B)