What if you scratch and make the 8 ball on the break?

July 20, 2020 Off By idswater

What if you scratch and make the 8 ball on the break?

If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. After the break, the table is open regardless of whether or not any balls have been pocketed.

Do you lose if you scratch on the break in 8 ball?

PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.

Do u lose if u scratch on the break?

NOTE – in some leagues and tournaments, you win the game if you pocket the 8-ball on the break and do not scratch, and you lose the game if you pocket the 8-ball and scratch. The table is considered open after the break, even if balls are pocketed on the break.

What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?

Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

What happens if you scratch?

Though it feels good, scratching actually triggers mild pain in your skin. Nerve cells tell your brain something hurts, and that distracts it from the itch. It can make you feel better in that moment, but 1 in 5 people say scratching makes them itch somewhere else on their body.

What happens if you don’t hit your ball first in Pool?

If you did not hit your ball first and made your opponents ball – you table scratched and your opponents get the cue ball to place anywhere on the table.

Is it a scratch in pool if you don’t hit a ball?

Simply put, a scratch in pool is when you pot the white ball. By doing so, a foul is incurred. There are other fouls in pool, such as potting your opponent’s ball, but this isn’t a scratch. If you pot your ball, and then the cue ball, in the same shot, its a scratch.

What happens if you scratch an 8 ball?

Here are the different set of rules related to scratching the 8ball : Game Win: If you legally pocket the 8 ball in the break. Game loss: If you pocket the 8 ball in the break and another foul occurs simultaneously.

What happens if the 8 ball goes in on break?

While you may have sunk the 8 ball without scratching, if you do it with any illegal or disallowed break, you may not be given the win. During league play, this can be devastating. To ensure your break is legal according to APA league rules, the following is necessary: Using as much power as you can while still maintaining control of the shot

What happens if the shooter sinks the 8 ball?

Bar rules and APA rules state that the shooter wins automatically if he or she sinks the 8 ball on the break. BCA rules are a little different. They give the breaker the option to re-rack the balls or to spot the 8 ball and continue play. Under BCA rules, it does not result in a win.

What happens if you scratch an object ball in straight pool?

If you pocket an object ball and scratch, you lose your turn but the object ball you pocketed stays in, so scratching becomes part of the game strategy since usually a pocketed object ball is worth loss of turn. In a game of straight pool up to 150, it’s a one stroke penalty and loss of turn.