Do minors need a work permit in Oregon?

June 16, 2020 Off By idswater

Do minors need a work permit in Oregon?

In general, a minor must be at least 14 years old to work in Oregon. Does a minor still need a work permit in order to be employed? No. However, an employment permit is required to employ minors under the age of 14.

How does a minor get a work permit in Oregon?

Get an application either by visiting any office of the Bureau of Labor and Industries, calling the Child Labor Unit in Portland at 971-673-0836, or by clicking here. The employer will complete the application and send it to the Child Labor Unit at 800 NE Oregon St. #1045, Portland, Oregon 97232.

How old do you have to be to get a work permit in Oregon?

14
Oregon . Minors age 14–17 are not required to obtain work permits. Instead, employers are required to apply for annual certificates to employ these minors.

How long can minors work in Oregon?

There are no restrictions on the hours minors 16 and over may work in youth camps. Minors under 16 may not work more than eight (8) hours per day, 40 hours per week, or before 6 a.m. or later than 10 p.m.

Can a 14 year old work at a family business?

There is no minimum age for when a person can start working in New South Wales. if the person is under eighteen, the business must provide employment terms and conditions equal to those that apply under the comparable NSW state award and industrial legislation.

Can a 14 year old get a work permit in Oregon?

While minors as young as age 14 are able to work in the state of Oregon without a work permit, in order for employers in Oregon to hire minors, they must obtain and Employment Certificate. In order to obtain an Employment Certificate, the employer must do the following:

How do you get a work permit for a minor?

When a minor is hired, the employer must verify the minor’s age by reviewing a proof of age document such as a birth certificate, passport, or driver’s license. A list must be kept with the names of all minors that are employed.

How long can a minor work after school in Oregon?

In Oregon, minors under 14 can only work for two hours after school and up to six hours on Saturdays and Sundays.

What are the working conditions for a 17 year old in Oregon?

FOR 16 AND 17 YEAR-OLDS Any time of year: Any hours – no daily restrictions, 44 hours per week maximum. Working Conditions ALL employers operating in Oregon, including those covered under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, must comply with state laws regulating general working conditions. Breaks (Rest Periods)