What is the formula for the turn density of a solenoid?

May 15, 2020 Off By idswater

What is the formula for the turn density of a solenoid?

Solenoid can be expressed as – $B = {\mu _o}\dfrac{{NI}}{l}$ where B is the solenoid magnetic flux density, ${\mu _o}$ is the magnetic constant, N is the number of turns, $I$ is the current and $l$ is the length of the solenoid.

What is the magnetic flux density of a solenoid?

is the permeability of the free space, n is the number of turns per unit length of the solenoid and i is the current flowing through the solenoid. Therefore, the magnetic flux density at a point on the axis of the long solenoid is 0.0126 T.

How do you calculate the magnetic flux density of a solenoid?

Solenoid Magnetic Field Calculation For a solenoid of length L = m with N = turns, the turn density is n=N/L= turns/m. B = Tesla = gauss. The Earth’s magnetic field is about half a gauss.

Why magnetic field outside a solenoid is zero?

The magnetic field lines follow the longitudinal path of the solenoid inside, so they must go in the opposite direction outside of the solenoid so that the lines can form a loop. In order for the total number of field lines to be conserved, the field outside must go to zero as the solenoid gets longer.

What is the SI unit of flux density?

The tesla (symbol T) is the derived SI unit of magnetic flux density, which represents the strength of a magnetic field. One tesla represents one weber per square meter.

What is flux per unit area?

Flux as flow rate per unit area. In transport phenomena (heat transfer, mass transfer and fluid dynamics), flux is defined as the rate of flow of a property per unit area, which has the dimensions [quantity]·[time]−1·[area]−1. The area is of the surface the property is flowing “through” or “across”.

What is the SI unit of electricity current?

Unit of electric current: ampere (A) The ampere, symbol A, is the SI unit of electric current. It is defined by taking the fixed numerical value of the elementary charge e to be 1.602 176 634 ×10−19 when expressed in the unit C, which is equal to A s, where the second is defined in terms of ∆νCs.