How many times has Argentina been runners up in the World Cup?

April 29, 2020 Off By idswater

How many times has Argentina been runners up in the World Cup?

Argentina has been runners up three times in 1930, 1990 and 2014. The team was present in all but four of the World Cups, being behind only Brazil, Italy and Germany in number of appearances.

Who was the first team to play Argentina in the World Cup?

Teams in bold denote world cup winners, teams in italics show teams which played it first match ever in a World Cup against Argentina. Teams with a * mark no longer exist.

How many times has Argentina won the Copa America?

Argentina has also won the Copa América 14 times, one less than Uruguay. Moreover, Argentina has also won the Confederations Cup and the gold medal at the 2004 and 2008 Olympic football tournament. Prior to that, Argentina won two silver medals in the 1928 and 1996 editions.

Who is the referee for Argentina in the World Cup?

As a major CONMEBOL member, Argentina has been represented by match officials in nearly every tournament. In 2006, Horacio Elizondo refereed the final between France and Italy, where he sent off Zinedine Zidane after a headbutt to an opponent. In 2018, Néstor Pitana did it when France played versus Croatia.

Argentina has been runners up three times in 1930, 1990 and 2014. The team was present in all but four of the World Cups, being behind only Brazil, Italy and Germany in number of appearances.

Teams in bold denote world cup winners, teams in italics show teams which played it first match ever in a World Cup against Argentina. Teams with a * mark no longer exist.

Argentina has also won the Copa América 14 times, one less than Uruguay. Moreover, Argentina has also won the Confederations Cup and the gold medal at the 2004 and 2008 Olympic football tournament. Prior to that, Argentina won two silver medals in the 1928 and 1996 editions.

As a major CONMEBOL member, Argentina has been represented by match officials in nearly every tournament. In 2006, Horacio Elizondo refereed the final between France and Italy, where he sent off Zinedine Zidane after a headbutt to an opponent. In 2018, Néstor Pitana did it when France played versus Croatia.