Do you dribble with one or two hands?

October 28, 2019 Off By idswater

Do you dribble with one or two hands?

A dribble ends when the player touches the ball with both hands simultaneously or permits the ball to come to rest in one or both hands. The ball being touched with both hands simultaneously (dribble with both hands) is a double dribble.

Can you dribble with two hands at the same time and it not be a double dribble?

Nothing in the rulebook that says a player cannot start a dribble with two hands. A dribble can end when touching both hands simultaneously, but a single dribble is OK as long as you catch the ball. There is no prohibition in the rules about starting a dribble with both hands.

What is it called when a player dribbles with 2 hands instead of one?

: an illegal action in basketball made when a player dribbles the ball with two hands simultaneously or continues to dribble after allowing the ball to come to rest in one or both hands.

What is the dictionary definition of Double Dribble?

dictionary thesaurus. noun. : an illegal action in basketball made when a player dribbles the ball with two hands simultaneously or continues to dribble after allowing the ball to come to rest in one or both hands.

Is there a rule against dribbling with two hands?

Dribbling with one hand is more common but there is no rule to prevent you dribbling with two hands, as long as players are only using the upper half of their hands (palming the ball). If players are deemed to have caught the ball and bounce it again the referee can award a turnover (this is like the double dribble rule in basketball).

What makes a double dribble illegal in basketball?

The players cause the double dribble violation when they start to dribble the ball again after their first dribble or when the ball has come to rest. You might still have some questions that why you cannot continuously dribble and why it is illegal in basketball games.

What are the points of dribble and control?

Deflecting a pass and gaining control of the ball. Tossing the ball from hand to hand and allowing it to come to rest in one or both hands before touching the floor, provided that no travelling violation is committed. Throwing the ball against the backboard and regaining the control of the ball. The above points are all pretty self-explanatory.

Do you dribble the ball with one hand or two?

You have to dribble the ball with only one hand, or else the referee may call a double dribble violation to you if you dribble the ball with two hands. You dribble the ball using your fingers, not your palms. It will look like your slapping the ball when you use your palm in dribbling the basketball.

What does it mean to Double Dribble in basketball?

Not only for catching, but this rule also implies for the players when they are dribbling. Both of your hands should not touch the ball simultaneously when you are dibbling with the ball, or it will be called a double dribble violation.

When does a dribble end with both hands?

A dribble ends when the player touches the ball with both hands simultaneously or permits the ball to come to rest in one or both hands. The ball being touched with both hands simultaneously (dribble with both hands) is a double dribble.

When is a Double Dribble not a personal foul?

Double dribbling is a common dribbling violation that is not a personal foul. This particular foul is committed when a player is dribbling the ball, makes contacts and rests both hands on the ball at the same time and then begins to dribble again.