What is in the federal government?

September 7, 2019 Off By idswater

What is in the federal government?

The Federal Government is composed of three distinct branches: legislative, executive, and judicial, whose powers are vested by the U.S. Constitution in the Congress, the President, and the Federal courts, respectively. For a full listing of Federal Agencies, Departments, and Commissions, visit USA.gov.

Is the FBI a federal agency?

The FBI is the nation’s lead federal law enforcement agency for investigating and preventing acts of domestic and international terrorism. It is the lead federal agency for investigating attacks involving weapons of mass destruction—those involving chemical, radiological, or biological agents or nuclear weapons.

Who is the Governor of the state of Illinois?

State Government Official Name: Illinois. Governor: JB Pritzker . Contact: Contact the governor. Main Address: 207 State House Springfield, IL, 62706. Phone Number: 217-782-6830. State Agencies. Attorney General; Consumer Protection Offices; Corrections Department; Education Department; Emergency Management Agency; Election Office

What are the departments of government in Illinois?

The government of Illinois has numerous departments, agencies, boards and commissions, but the code departments, so called because they’re established by the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois, provide most of the state’s services: Department on Aging. Department of Agriculture.

Where does the state government of Illinois meet?

Many State of Illinois bureaucrats work in offices in Springfield, and it is the regular meeting place of the Illinois General Assembly. All persons elected in a statewide manner in Illinois are required to have at least one residence in Springfield, and the state government funds these residences.

Who are the officers of the executive branch in Illinois?

The executive branch is composed of six elected officers and their offices as well as numerous other departments. Illinois is one of 26 states that elect their governor on the same ticket as their lieutenant governor. The six elected officers are: J. B. Pritzker (D)

Who was the first governor of Illinois?

Shadrach Bond (November 24, 1773-April 12, 1832) was a representative from Illinois Territory to the United States Congress. In 1818, he was elected Governor of Illinois, becoming the new state’s first chief executive.

Who is the Governor of Illinois now?

The governor is responsible for enacting laws passed by the Illinois General Assembly. Illinois is one of 14 states with no gubernatorial term-limit. The current governor is Republican Bruce Rauner.

Who are Illinois governors?

Illinois is one of 14 states that does not have a gubernatorial term-limit. The governor is commander-in-chief of the state’s land, air and sea forces, when they are in state service. The 43rd and current governor is J. B. Pritzker, a Democrat who took office on January 14, 2019.

What is Illinois state law?

Law of Illinois. The law of Illinois consists of several levels, including constitutional, statutory, and regulatory law, as well as case law and local law. The Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) form the general statutory law.