What towns make up the French Riviera?

August 29, 2019 Off By idswater

What towns make up the French Riviera?

The French Riviera has a total population of more than two million. It contains the seaside resorts of Cap-d’Ail, Beaulieu-sur-Mer, Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, Villefranche-sur-Mer, Antibes, Juan-les-Pins, Cannes, Saint-Raphaël, Fréjus, Sainte-Maxime and Saint-Tropez.

Why is it called French Riviera?

But what is the French Riviera? . It was Stéphen Liégeard who first coined the phrase ‘Côte d’Azur’ (French Riviera) in 1887. He defined it thus: ‘the strip of coast between Marseille and Italy’. The name comes from the practice of coming to the coast during the winter months, which began in 1750.

Where is the French Riviera located?

Côte d’Azur
Riviera, Mediterranean coastland between Cannes (France) and La Spezia (Italy). The French section comprises part of the Côte d’Azur (which extends farther west), while the Italian section is known to the west and east of Genoa as the Riviera di Ponente and the Riviera di Levante, respectively.

Where is Cannes in relation to Nice?

Located in the Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur region, Nice is approximately 30km north of Cannes and both offer a glamourous place to see and be seen. Famous for its film festival, Cannes also offers popular beaches and casinos while Nice boasts its famous seafront Promenade.

Is Caen and Cannes the same?

“Cannes” is like the BE pronunciation of “can”. For AE it is a shorter sharper vowel than you use in “can” but not so different. “Caen” is a bit difficult to describe in written words. It is like “Kahhhhhn” but with no “n” at the end.

Which is the westernmost city on the French Riviera?

Following the broadest definition of the French Riviera, following the coast from south-west to north-east, the south-westernmost city is Cassis, and the north-easternmost city on the French Riviera is Menton. Thes two cities are marked with red on the map of the French Riviera.

Is the French Riviera part of Cote d Azur?

The French Riviera coast is completely within the Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur (PACA) region of France. Some people refer the French Riviera to Cote d’Azur, and vice versa, but these two don’t have identical meanings.

What are the three main regions of Provence?

Looking at a map of Provence you will observe that Provence has three main regions, the heartland and the region around Avignon, Aix and Marseille, the area streching up to the high Alps and of course The French Riviera. As with the countryside, the architecture of the region is varied with Romanesque, Gothic and Renaissance styles.

Where are the corniche roads in the French Riviera?

The Corniche roads run between Nice and Menton and overlook the Cote D’Azur. The three roads are carved into the mountainside and comprise of the Grande Corniche at the top, the Moyenne Corniche in the middle and the Basse Corniche which runs along the coast.