How many NFL teams have won championships?

August 23, 2019 Off By idswater

How many NFL teams have won championships?

Of the 28 franchises to have played in a Super Bowl, 20 have actually won a championship. New England joined the Steelers with an NFL-leading sixth Super Bowl win, while the Cowboys and 49ers have five apiece….List of Super Bowl appearances, record by NFL team.

Tm Pittsburgh Steelers
W 6
L 2
W-L% .750

Who are the current champions of the NFL?

Since 1970, the modern era NFL has become the only major professional football league in the United States, and its current league championship game is called the Super Bowl. The Pittsburgh Steelers and the New England Patriots have won the most with six Super Bowl wins.

Who is the only NFL team to have won three consecutive championships?

History of the National Football League championship. The Packers are also the only team to win three consecutive championships, having done so twice (1929–1931, 1965–1967). The Chicago Bears have won the second most overall championships with nine (9) (eight NFL championships, one Super Bowl championship).

Who was the first USFL team to win the championship?

United States Football League. The Michigan Panthers won the first USFL championship in 1983. The Philadelphia Stars won the second USFL championship in 1984, and after relocating to Baltimore, won the final USFL championship in 1985 as the Baltimore Stars in what was effectively a rematch of the first USFL title game.

How is the champion of the NFL determined?

Throughout its history, the National Football League (NFL) and other leagues have used several different formats to determine their league champion, including a period of interleague match-ups determining a true world champion.

Who are the teams that have won the NFL Championship?

The NFL lists the old AFL/NFL championship games with “new” AFC/NFC championship games in its record books. The Green Bay Packers have won the most NFL championship titles with (13) (9 NFL championships and 4 Super Bowls) and are the only NFL team to win the AFL-NFL World Championship game.

What was the first professional American football championship?

Professional American football championship games. The first efforts at pro football championships were the World Series of Professional Football, featuring teams from and around New York City and the 1902 “National” Football League in Pennsylvania; two of the three “N”FL teams participated as one team in the World Series of Pro Football.

Who are the past National Football League champions?

Champions edit | edit source Bowl Season Champions LII 2017 Philadelphia Eagles LIII 2018 New England Patriots LIV 2019 Kansas City Chiefs LV 2020 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

How was the champion of the NFL determined?

This is a list of National Football League (NFL) champions before the 1970 AFL–NFL merger. From 1920 – 1932, the league champion was determined by a team’s win–loss percentage, with ties omitted. In 1932, because of a tie in the final standings, a playoff game was played to determine the championship.