How many countries participated in the first World Cup?

August 23, 2019 Off By idswater

How many countries participated in the first World Cup?

Thirteen teams
Thirteen teams (seven from South America, four from Europe and two from North America) entered the tournament….1930 FIFA World Cup.

Campeonato Mundial de Fútbol Uruguay 1930
Host country Uruguay
Dates 13–30 July
Teams 13 (from 3 confederations)
Venue(s) 3 (in 1 host city)

Who is the only team to have played in every FIFA World Cup?

They are the only team that has played in every FIFA World Cup. Uruguay hosted and won the inaugural FIFA World Cup in 1930, and later won again in 1950 when Brazil hosted the final tournament for the first time. Australia are the only OFC team to have advanced to the FIFA World Cup knockout stage, which they did in 2006.

Who are the 32 countries in the World Cup?

Home > Events > Football > Football World Cup > Countries. 32 countries participated at the 2018 FIFA World Cup. Debutants to qualify were Panama and Iceland. Shocks and surprises included the following teams to miss out: Italy, Netherlands, USA, Algeria, Cameroon, Ireland, Ghana, and Chile. See the full list of qualifiers for 2018.

Who was the first UEFA Team to win the World Cup?

Italy were the first UEFA team to win the FIFA World Cup, which they did at the second tournament in 1934. They would later also win in 1938, 1982 and 2006. Germany (including West Germany) have also won the FIFA World Cup four times. They are the European team with the most appearances in the FIFA World Cup.

Where did the United States finish in the first FIFA World Cup?

United States finished in third place in the inaugural FIFA World Cup in 1930, which remains the only semi-finals appearance by a CONCACAF team. Mexico have participated in 16 FIFA World Cup tournaments, behind only Brazil (21), Germany (19), Italy (18) and Argentina (17).