Who won the first World Cup and what year?

August 16, 2019 Off By idswater

Who won the first World Cup and what year?

In the first World Cup final, held on July 30, 1930, 93,000 spectators looked on as Uruguay defeated Argentina 4–2 in a rematch of the 1928 Olympic gold medal game. Uruguay went on to win its second World Cup in 1950 with a 2-1 win over Brazil in Rio de Janeiro.

Who was the host country of the first FIFA World Cup?

On 28 May 1928, the FIFA Congress in Amsterdam decided to stage a world championship itself. With Uruguay now two-time official football world champions and to celebrate their centenary of independence in 1930, FIFA named Uruguay as the host country of the inaugural World Cup tournament .

Where was the first FIFA Club World Championship played?

The first FIFA Club World Championship took place in Brazil in 2000. It ran in parallel with the Intercontinental Cup, a competition played by the winners of the UEFA Champions League and the Copa Libertadores, from 2000 to 2004, with the champions of each tournament both recognised (in 2017) by FIFA as club world champions.

When was the First World Cup held in South America?

Uruguay hosted the inaugural tournament in 1930 and the competition was supposed to be alternated between Europe and South America. FIFA still hadn’t made the decision between Germany and Brazil when European hostilities broke out in September 1939, after the German troops invaded Poland. This was the start of the Second World War.

When did the FIFA Intercontinental Cup become the Club World Cup?

In 2005, the Intercontinental Cup was merged with the FIFA Club World Championship, and in 2006, the tournament was renamed as the FIFA Club World Cup. The winner of the Club World Cup receives the FIFA Club World Cup trophy and a FIFA World Champions certificate.

Where was the first FIFA World Cup held?

fifa world cup is played every 4 years, in different Countries. World Cup History Timeline starts with the first ever FIFA World Cup held in Uruguay, year 1930. Only 13 teams participated in the first World Cup Tournament, including 7 from South America, 4 from Europe and 2 from North America.

Who was the host of the 1930 FIFA World Cup?

FIFA World Cup Hosts List Year Host Continent Champion 1930 Uruguay South America Uruguay 1934 Italy Europe Italy 1938 France Europe Italy 1950 Brazil South America Uruguay

Who was the First Nation to win the World Cup?

In the final, hosts and pre-tournament favourites Uruguay defeated Argentina 4–2 in front of a crowd of 68,346 people to become the first nation to win the World Cup.

Which is the first African country to host the World Cup?

South Africa became the first African nation to host the World Cup in 2010. The 2014 FIFA World Cup was hosted by Brazil, the first held in South America since Argentina 1978, and was the first occasion where consecutive World Cups were held outside Europe.