Who are the 9 members that make up the United States Supreme Court?

August 11, 2019 Off By idswater

Who are the 9 members that make up the United States Supreme Court?

The 9 current justices of the US Supreme Court

  • Chief Justice John Roberts. Chief Justice John Roberts.
  • Justice Clarence Thomas. Associate Justice Clarence Thomas.
  • Justice Stephen Breyer.
  • Justice Samuel Alito.
  • Justice Sonia Sotomayor.
  • Justice Elena Kagan.
  • Justice Neil Gorsuch.
  • Justice Brett Kavanaugh.

Who make up the Supreme Court?

The Supreme Court consists of the Chief Justice of the United States and such number of Associate Justices as may be fixed by Congress.

Who are the current members of the Supreme Court?

Following Ginsburg’s death, the Supreme Court is now made up of three liberal justices — Stephen Breyer, Sonia Sotomayor and Elena Kagan — and five conservatives justices — John Roberts Jr., the chief justice, and Clarence Thomas, Samuel Alito Jr., Neil Gorsuch and Brett Kavanaugh.

Who are the justices of the Supreme Court in the UK?

Main article: Justice of the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom. The court is composed of the President and Deputy President and ten other Justices of the Supreme Court, all with the style of ” Justices of the Supreme Court ” under section 23 (6) of the Constitutional Reform Act.

Who is the Chief Justice of the US Supreme Court?

He was appointed to the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit in 2003. President George W. Bush nominated him as Chief Justice of the United States, and he took his seat September 29, 2005. was born in the Pinpoint community near Savannah, Georgia on June 23, 1948.

What are the qualifications for a Supreme Court justice?

The president of the United States nominates prospective justices, who must be confirmed by the U.S. Senate before being seated on the court. The Constitution lists no official qualifications for becoming a Supreme Court justice.

Who appoints and approves Supreme Court justices?

The president nominates Supreme Court justices. They serve a lifetime term, if approved by the Senate. This is specified by the Constitution. Article III states that the president “shall nominate, and by and with the Advice and Consent of the Senate, shall appoint Judges of the Supreme Court.”.

How many associate justices on Supreme Court?

Article III of the U.S. Constitution gives Congress the power to set the number of justices on the Supreme Court. It currently stands at nine, with one chief justice and eight associate justices.

What are the names of US Supreme Court justices?

The current Supreme Court is comprised of chief justice John Roberts, Jr. and associate justices Anthony Kennedy, Clarence Thomas, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Stephen Breyer, Samuel Alito, Sonia Sotomayor, Elena Kagan and Neil Gorsuch.

What is the salary of an US Supreme Court justice?

The apex of the judiciary, the Chief Supreme Court Justice’s salary is $267,000 a year. Salaries vary wildly among the rest of the state and federal ranks, but almost every judge’s salary is greater than $100,000.