What teams were in the World Cup finals?

July 22, 2019 Off By idswater

What teams were in the World Cup finals?


National team Wins Years won
Brazil 5 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002
Germany 4 1954, 1974, 1990, 2014
Italy 4 1934, 1938, 1982, 2006
Argentina 2 1978, 1986

Which team went into the 2006 World Cup finals against the backdrop of a match fixing scandal?

Italy won the World Cup after beating France 5–3 in a penalty shoot-out following a 1–1 draw at the conclusion of extra time…

Why was Juventus banned?

In May 2006, Juventus became one of the five clubs linked to the Calciopoli scandal. The club was also stripped of the 2005 title won under Capello, while the 2006 title, after a period sub judice, was assigned to Inter Milan.

Where was the 2006 FIFA World Cup Final played?

The victory also led to Italy topping the FIFA World Rankings in February 2007 for the first time since November 1993. The Olympiastadion in Berlin was used as the venue for the final, as well as five other matches over the tournament. It was also used for three matches at the 1974 FIFA World Cup.

Who was the man of the match in the 2006 World Cup?

Italy’s Andrea Pirlo was awarded the Man of the Match, and Zidane was awarded the Golden Ball as the player of the tournament. The final served as a key match in the France–Italy football rivalry, coming after Italy were defeated by France in the UEFA Euro 2000 Final.

How many teams qualified for the World Cup in 2006?

198 teams attempted to qualify for the 2006 World Cup. Germany, the host nation, was granted automatic qualification, with the remaining 31 finals places divided among the continental confederations.

Who is the only team to have played in every FIFA World Cup?

They are the only team that has played in every FIFA World Cup. Uruguay hosted and won the inaugural FIFA World Cup in 1930, and later won again in 1950 when Brazil hosted the final tournament for the first time. Australia are the only OFC team to have advanced to the FIFA World Cup knockout stage, which they did in 2006.

What was the FIFA World Cup in 2006?

This article about 2006 FIFA World Cup is a stub, an article too short to provide more than rudimentary information about a subject. You can help The Football Wiki by expanding it. The 2006 FIFA World Cup was the 18th FIFA World Cup, the quadrennial international football world championship tournament.

Who was Italy’s opponent in the 2006 World Cup?

Italy Italy Round France France Opponents Results Group stage Opponents Results Ghana 2–0 Match 1 Switzerland 0–0 United States 1–1 Match 2 South Korea 1–1 Czech Republic 2–0 Match 3 Togo 2–0

What was the name of the team that won the World Cup?

The team that wins the finals receive the FIFA World Cup Trophy, and their name is engraved on the bottom side of the trophy. The 1970 and 1994, along with the 1986, 1990 and 2014 games are to date the only matches competed by the same teams (Brazil–Italy and Argentina–Germany respectively).

Who was the referee in the 2006 World Cup Final?

Although play was halted, referee Horacio Elizondo did not appear to have seen the confrontation. According to match officials’ reports, fourth official Luis Medina Cantalejo informed Elizondo of the incident through his headset. After consulting his assistants, Elizondo issued Zidane a red card in the 110th minute.