Who became the prime minister of India after 2014 general election?

May 20, 2019 Off By idswater

Who became the prime minister of India after 2014 general election?

Prime Minister of India

Prime Minister of India (Bhārat ke Pradhānamantri)
Incumbent Narendra Modi since 26 May 2014
Prime Minister’s Office
Style The Honourable (Hon’ble) (formal) His Excellency (in diplomatic correspondence) Mr. Prime Minister (informal)
Status Head of government

How many seats did BJP win in 2014 elections?

The results of the election were declared on 16 May 2014. The Bharatiya Janata Party (of the NDA) achieved an absolute majority with 282 seats out of 543, 166 seats more than in the previous 15th Lok Sabha. Its PM candidate Narendra Modi took office on 26 May 2014 as the 14th prime minister of India.

When was Modi elected 2014?

In 2014, Modi contested for the two Lok Sabha constituencies: Varanasi and Vadodara. He won in both constituencies, defeating Aam Aadmi Party leader Arvind Kejriwal in Varanasi and Madhusudan Mistry of the Indian National Congress in Vadodara.

Who won the 2014 election?

San Jose, California: Incumbent Chuck Reed is term-limited out of office. A primary election was held on June 3, and a run-off was held on November 4. Sam Liccardo edged out opponent Dave Cortese in a razor-thin victory with 50.8% of the vote.

Who was PM before Modi?

Prime ministers

Name (birth–death); constituency Party (Alliance)
(10) Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1924–2018) MP for Lucknow Bharatiya Janata Party (NDA)
14 Manmohan Singh (born 1932) MP (Rajya Sabha) for Assam Indian National Congress (UPA)
15 Narendra Damodardas Modi (born 1950) MP for Varanasi Bharatiya Janata Party (NDA)

How many seats did BJP won in Lok Sabha Election 2019?

The Bharatiya Janata Party received 37.36% of the vote and won 303 seats, further increasing its substantial majority and the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) won 353 seats.

Who won the Senate in 2014?

The Republicans regained the majority of the Senate in the 114th Congress, which started in January 2015; the Republicans had not controlled the Senate since January 2007. They needed a net gain of at least six seats to obtain a majority and were projected by polls to do so.

Who was the Prime Minister of India in 2014?

2014 Indian general election First party Second party Third party Leader Narendra Modi Rahul Gandhi J. Jayalalithaa Party BJP INC AIADMK Alliance NDA UPA Leader since 13 September 2013 N/A 1989

Who are the cabinet ministers of India 2.0?

Narendra Modi Cabinet 2.0 comprises 22 cabinet Ministers, 29 Ministers of State, and 9 Ministers of State (Independent Charge). Prime Minister Narendra Modi took oath as the 15th Prime Minister of India on 30th May 2019. He has completed 20 years in public office.

What are the portfolios of the Prime Minister of India?

Prime Minister and also in-charge of: Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions;Department of Atomic Energy; Department of Space; and All important policy issues; and All other portfolios not allocated to any Minister. 1. Minister of Defence. 2. Minister of Home Affairs. 3.

Who are the ministers of States in India?

Ministers of States: Ministers of states are given charge of some specific departments under the ministry. A minister of states is guided by the cabinet minister. Deputy Ministers: Deputy ministers assist the cabinet ministers is their administrative, parliamentary, and political duties. These ministers are of the lowest rank in the government.

Who is the Prime Minister candidate of India in 2024?

Narendra Modi is expected to be the prime ministerial candidate of Bhartiya Janata Party in 2024 general election. According to the constitution of the BJP, a person who’s age is more than 75 years, will not be given a ticket on behalf of the party to contest in any election.

Who was the first non Congress Prime Minister of India?

List of Prime Ministers of India. Indira Gandhi, Nehru’s daughter, succeeded Shastri in 1966 to become the country’s first woman prime minister. Eleven years later, she was voted out of power in favour of the Janata Party, whose leader Morarji Desai became the first non-Congress prime minister.

Who is the Chief Electoral Officer of India?

Satyendra Singh, a doctor with a disability, showed the lack of preparedness by the Election Commission of India (ECI) towards electors with disabilities through the Right to Information Act. The Chief Electoral Officer in Delhi, Vijay Dev then started a campaign on providing accessibility for the disabled, along with him.