Who is next in line for governor?

May 1, 2019 Off By idswater

Who is next in line for governor?


# Office Current officeholder
1 Lieutenant Governor Eleni Kounalakis (D)
2 President pro tempore of the Senate Toni Atkins (D)
3 Speaker of the Assembly Anthony Rendon (D)
4 Secretary of State Shirley Weber (D)

What is the order of the line of succession to the governor of Missouri after the lieutenant governor?

If there be no lieutenant governor the president pro tempore of the senate, the speaker of the house, the secretary of state, the state auditor, the state treasurer or the attorney general in succession shall become governor.

Who takes over if the governor of Illinois dies?

(7) The Speaker of the House of Representatives. (b) The officer next in line of succession shall serve as Governor for the remainder of the term if he succeeds to the office by reason of death, conviction on impeachment or resignation of the Governor.

What happens if governor dies?

In most cases, the lieutenant governor is the highest officer of state after the governor, standing in for that officer when they are absent from the state or temporarily incapacitated. In the event a governor dies, resigns or is removed from office, the lieutenant governor typically becomes governor.

What’s the Order of succession for the US governors?

The following is the planned order of succession for the governorships of the 50 U.S. states, Washington, D.C. and the 5 organized territories of the United States, according to the constitutions (and supplemental laws, if any) of each. Some states make a distinction whether the succeeding individual is acting as governor or becomes governor.

Is there a line of succession to the US presidency?

In the event that the US President cannot fulfill his or her duties, there is a clear line of succession laid out. The president of the United States is considered by some to be the most powerful person in the world, leading the only contemporary superpower in the world.

How is the Order of succession determined in the royal family?

The order of succession is the sequence of members of the Royal Family in the order in which they stand in line to the throne. The basis for the succession was determined in the constitutional developments of the seventeenth century, which culminated in the Bill of Rights (1689) and the Act of Settlement (1701).

Who is in the line of succession to the throne?

The line of Succession 1 The Prince of Wales 2 The Duke of Cambridge 3 Prince George of Cambridge 4 Princess Charlotte of Cambridge 5 Prince Louis of Cambridge 6 The Duke of Sussex 7 Master Archie Mountbatten-Windsor 8 The Duke of York 9 Princess Beatrice, Mrs. Edoardo Mapelli Mozzi 10 Princess Eugenie, Mrs. Jack Brooksbank

What is the current order of succession?

The current Presidential Succession Act was adopted in 1947, and last revised in 2006. The line of succession follows the order of Vice President, Speaker of the House of Representatives, President pro tempore of the Senate, and then the eligible heads of federal executive departments who form the president’s Cabinet.

What is the line of succession?

line of succession (plural lines of succession) An ordered sequence of named people who would succeed to a particular office upon the death, resignation or removal of the current occupant; constructed using the rules of an established order of succession.

What is the chain of succession?

The Chain of Succession is the Mapperdonian concept of the “Line of Succession”. Where if leaders are unable to take command at the time, or resigns, it will be passed to the next person.

What is succession planning?

Succession Planning. Definition: Succession Planning is defined as the systematic process of recognizing and creating future leaders who are able to take the position of the old ones when they leave the organization due to retirement, resignation, termination, transfer, promotion or death.