What is an arraignment Washington State?

May 1, 2019 Off By idswater

What is an arraignment Washington State?

Arraignment (Intake): This is generally the first court appearance after being arrested or investigated for a Washington State criminal case. At arraignment you appear before a judge and are formally notified of the charge(s) filed against you and asked to enter a plea.

Is arraignment required before bail?

BAIL In case it is authorized, bail should be granted BEFORE arraignment, otherwise the accused may be precluded from filing a motion to quash. FOR THIS REASON, the condition imposed by the trial court that the bail granted only after the accused had been arraigned is void.

What does no bail hold mean?

A “no bond” or “zero bond” means that no bond or bail has been set for the defendant. There can be various reasons for this. A judge may not yet have had a chance to set a bond, or a judge has determined that bond should not be set. Sometimes, judges hold these eligible defendants without a bond by mistake.

Can you post bail after arraignment?

At the arraignment, the defendant may enter a plea and the judge will set bail (or allow release without bail, known as “OR”). The defendant may pay bail at that time or any time thereafter.

What happens after an arraignment?

What happens after the arraignment? Some time after the arraignment, the abusive person will have to go to court for a pre-trial conference. At that conference, they may plead guilty to something that settles the case. If they do not plead guilty, the court will set a trial date.

Can you post bail on a felony charge?

Yes, if you are charged with a felony crime, you are eligible for obtaining a felony bail bond. Keep in mind that bail for felony crimes is set at your county’s Superior Court. Typically, bail for felony crimes ranges between $1,500 to the hundred thousands price point.

What’s the punishment for bail jumping in Washington State?

2. If the original charge was a Class B or Class C felony, a conviction for bail jumping is punishable by 1 to 43 months in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. 3. If the original charge was a misdemeanor, a conviction for bail jumping is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $5,000.

What do you need to know about bail in Washington State?

Eight hours of classroom training are required, and a $500 fee must be paid to the Washington Department of Licensing. Regular continuing education is also required. IF YOU’RE CHARGED WITH A CRIME, WHAT SHOULD YOU DO FIRST?

Can a bench warrant be issued for bail jumping?

If a defendant fails to appear in court after posting bail, a bench warrant can be issued at that time for the defendant’s immediate arrest. The defendant may additionally be charged with bail jumping. In the state of Washington, the penalty for a bail jumping conviction depends upon what kind of crime the defendant was originally charged with:

How to get out of jail in Washington State?

After being arrested and charged with a crime, there are four ways a defendant can get out of jail while awaiting trial in the state of Washington: 1. An O.R. (“own recognizance”) release does not require money and is often the first step in a pre-trial program.