Who became the Prime Minister in elections of 1988?

December 31, 2018 Off By idswater

Who became the Prime Minister in elections of 1988?

On 4 December 1988, Bhutto was elected as the first female Prime Minister of a Muslim country. The new Cabinet, headed by Bhutto was subsequently announced.

Who became the Prime Minister of Pakistan in 1988?

Prime ministers

Term Number Name Tenure
29 May 1988 – 2 December 1988
11 Benazir Bhutto 1 Year, 8 Months, 4 Days,
12 Nawaz Sharif 2 Years, 7 Months, 4 Days,
13 Benazir Bhutto 3 Years, 17 Days,

How many times Nawaz Sharif become PM?

Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif (Urdu: میاں محمد نواز شریف‎; born 25 December 1949) is a Pakistani businessman and politician who served as the prime minister of Pakistan for three non-consecutive terms. Sharif is the longest-serving prime minister of Pakistan having served a total of more than 9 years.

Which is the first Prime Minister of Pakistan?

S/No Name Tenure
1 Mr. Liaqat Ali Khan 15-08-1947 To 16-10-1951
2 Khawaja Nazimuddin 17-10-1951 To 17-04-1953
3 Mr. Mohammad Ali Bogra 17-04-1953 To 11-08-1955
4 Ch. Mohammed Ali 11-08-1955 To 12-09-1956

Who wins the election of 1988?

The 1988 United States presidential election was the 51st quadrennial presidential election, held on Tuesday, November 8, 1988. The Republican nominee, incumbent Vice President George H. W. Bush, defeated the Democratic nominee, Governor Michael Dukakis of Massachusetts.

Has Pakistan had a female Prime Minister?

She was sworn in as the Prime Minister of Pakistan on 2 December 1988. Bhutto became the first female Prime Minister in a Muslim-majority country, as well as Pakistan’s second nationally elected Prime Minister.

Who is the father of Nawaz Sharif?

Muhammad Sharif
Nawaz Sharif/Fathers
Muhammad Sharif, the father of former Prime Minister of Pakistan Nawaz Sharif, migrated from Jati Umra, Amritsar, India, after the creation of Pakistan in 1947. He was a businessman who founded the Ittefaq Group in 1939 in Lahore however made most of his wealth in steel manufacturing business and other industries .

How much is Nawaz Sharif worth?

Pakistanis by net worth

Rank Name Net worth (USD)
5 Asif Ali Zardari $1.8 billion
6 Malik Riaz $1.5 billion
7 Nawaz Sharif $1.4 billion
8 M. Habibullah Khan $1.25 billion

Who is the leader of the government in Pakistan?

With Pakistan following a parliamentary system of government, the Prime minister is generally the leader of a party (or coalition of parties) that has a majority in the National Assembly —the lower house of the Parliament of Pakistan. The Prime Minister, in common with all other ministers, has to be a member of National Assembly.

When did the Office of Prime Minister of Pakistan come into existence?

Executive powers and authority was given to the prime minister when the full set of the Constitution of Pakistan was promulgated in 1973 but the post was ceased from its effective operations after another martial law in 1977. After the general elections held in 1985, the office came to its existence.

Who was the disqualified Prime Minister of Pakistan?

Gillani was elected as prime minister in March 2008. He was disqualified from his seat in the parliament in April 2012 by the Supreme Court for contempt of court. Ashraf assumed the post of Prime Minister in June 2012, after Yousaf Raza Gillani was disqualified over contempt of court charges.

Who was the first Finance Minister of Pakistan?

Following advice given by the founding father of the nation, Governor-General Muhammad Ali Jinnah appointed and invited the Finance Minister Liaquat Ali Khan to set up and run his administration in 1947. He was assassinated in 1951, and Khawaja Nazimuddin took the office.

Who was the first woman Prime Minister of Pakistan?

The general elections in 1988 resulted in the Pakistan Peoples Party ‘s Benazir Bhutto becoming the first woman Prime Minister elected in a Muslim country. From 1988 to 1993, the power struggle between the Prime Minister and Presidency continued with President dismissing the National Assembly on three different occasions.

Who is the current Prime Minister of Pakistan?

He is member of National Assembly of Pakistan since August 2018. The son of Hakim Ali Zardari, a landowner from Sindh, Zardari rose to prominence after his marriage to Benazir Bhutto in 1987, who became the Prime Minister of Pakistan after her election in 1988.

Who was the Prime Minister of Pakistan in 1993?

Sharif resigned from the post negotiating a settlement that resulted in the removal of President as well, in July 1993. Bhutto was re-elected for a second term, in 1993. She survived an attempted coup d’état in 1995. Bhutto’s government was dismissed by president Farooq Leghari in November 1996. 25 Days.

Who was elected president of Pakistan in 2008?

As the new Co-Chairman of the PPP, he led his party to victory in the 2008 general elections. He spearheaded a coalition that forced military ruler Pervez Musharraf to resign, and was elected President on 6 September 2008. He was acquitted of various criminal charges the same year.